Swatching & Photographing…..

I’ve been busy over the last few days working on swatches for my C & G design – a hot water bottle cover.

From top to bottom:  Ridge Stitch, Trellis Stitch & Woven Stitch.  I was going to do a cable swatch but my existing hot water bottle cover has a cable on it and I quite fancy a change.  The stitch patterns came from:  400 Knitting Stitches.  I think I’ve decided to do the cover in the ridge stitch.  It’s simple and I quite like the look of it.

I chose to make the cover with an Aran yarn (with a bit of help from Cuilean).

On Saturday, it was an absolutely beautiful day here in Inverness so Cuilean and I, armed with the camera went for a long walk.  We walked down to Carnac Point which is a 10 minute walk from the house and took this picture of North Kessock / The Black Isle which is a beautiful area.

There’s a good view of the Kessock bridge.  Occassionally, if you’re lucky you sometimes see dolphins swimming about quite near the shore.  On the left hand side of the photo underneath one of the pillars there’s a small white building – that’s our local RNLI.  They are mostly volunteers and are so busy all the year round.  Thank God for them!

Before the bridge got built, there used to be a ferry taking people between north and south Kessock.  The little white jetty is still there.  You can just see it on the left hand side of the photo below.

Inverness from the air.

Inverness from the air

On Sunday, the weather was a total contrast and was wet, windy and miserable.  Still, come rain, hail or shine Cuilean still needs his walk so off we went, again with camera in hand to see what we could find.  There’s an industrial estate a 10 minute walk in another direction from my house and right in the middle of it is this clock – Cromwells Clock.

It’s such a shame it is where it is.  I always think it should be in the city centre somewhere.  There’s a couple of plaques on one of the walls which read:

From top to bottom:

“To the East of this clock tower lie the ramparts of Cromwells citadel founded in 1652 and demolished in 1661 after the restoration of the Monarchy.  This clock tower was partially demolished and later re-roofed”.

“Inverness common good fund – This historic clock and tower was restored in 2010 with a grant from the Inverness common good fund”.

I must admit, I’m embarrassed to admit I’ve no idea who Cromwell was.  It’s something I must look into…..

I love buttons and have an abundance of them…..

…..so I decided to brighten up my white board and attach some magnets to the back of some of the buttons to use as markers instead of the boring ones I had.

I enjoy growing seeds from scratch.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.  I thought I’d try to see if I could get some apple pips to sprout.  Imagine my surprise (and delight!) when I seen these little green shoots from my green apple…..

…..and the one seed I got from my red apple.

I read on Google that they have to be kept in damp kitchen roll in the fridge for 6 weeks before planting so all being well they should be ready for planting around the 10th of May.  Watch this space!

My sunflowers seeds have shot up too at an alarming speed.  I’ll be separating them shortly into their own pots.  I’m looking forward to planting them along the back wall in my garden.

Not so long ago, I wrote on my blog that I enjoy making my own cleaning products.  I got told of a recipe for a carpet deodoriser using bicarbonate of soda and aromatherapy oils.  I also use it as a mild abrasive on my cooker top, kitchen counters etc.  It smells lovely.

It consists of:

1 x 200g tub of Bicarbonate of Soda.

20 drops of Lavender.

10 drops of Lemon.

10 drops of Tea Tree.

Mix all ingredients together and store in a jar.

*Disclaimer:  Please always do a patch test if using aromatherapy oils or bicarbonate of soda on any carpeted areas, worktops / counters or any appliances!*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

