Module 3 – City & Guilds Knitwear Design. (Certificate).

Finally got module 3 posted to Fiona today.  Again, this post is picture heavy with a breakdown of the course content.

Activity 1:

The objective of activity 1 is to be able to work with a fashion template and illustrate a variety of garments.

Activity 2:

Activity 2 is to knit a range of knit and purl stitch patterns, which should include stocking st, garter st, moss st,  1 x 1 rib, 2 x 2 rib, at least 2 wide rib patterns and at least 3 knit and purl patterns, e.g: gansey style patterns.

Activity 3:

Activity 3 is to do knit at least 2 examples of crossed stitch patterns.

Activity 4:

Activity 4 is to knit at least 2 cable patterns, one simple and one more complicated.

Activity 5:

Activity 5 is to knit at least one sample each of popcorn and bobbles and at least two examples of embossed patterns.

Activity 6:

Activity 6 is to collect a variety of charted patterns.

Activity’s 7 & 8:

Both these activities were to calculate a round neck set-in sleeve pattern and to calculate a v-neck raglan sleeve pattern.

Fashion Accessory:

I had to design and knit a fashion accessory and had the choice of a hat, belt, bag, collar, scarf, shawl or a piece of jewellery.  I chose to do a plain st st hat.  As well as the designing and knitting the hat, I had to do a sketch, a swatch, a design brief and an action plan.  I was quite pleased with how the hat turned out although would’ve preferred it to have a more rounded top.

I love Christmas and hated taking down my Christmas tree and decorations.  The house looks so bare now.  The Angel on the left hand side my Mum gave to me and is older than me.  She’s been carefully wrapped up and stored away.  (The Angel, not my Mum!).  ;-)

Here’s some of my favourite decorations.

Still, only 343 days till Christmas!     ;-)

And finally, couldn’t write a post and not include a photo of my wee boy.

Happy Knitting!

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Module 3 – City & Guilds Knitwear Design. (Certificate).

  1. Rachael says:

    I read all about the course you’re doing and think I would so like to have ago at that myself but I’m not convinced that I’m clever enough or have enough time. You look as if you’re really enjoying it.

    Cute dog. I too was sad to take my Christmas Tree down this year but as you say, it will be happening all over again all too soon.

  2. Kelly says:

    Hi Rachael,
    Thanks for your comment. You should do the course, I think you’d enjoy it. There is a lot of work involved but you just work at your own pace. I started this course ages ago and should be finished it by now probably but like yourself sometimes there aren’t enough hours in the day. As for thinking you’re not clever enough (which I’m certain isn’t the case!), I wouldn’t worry about that either. If you can knit you can do it. Everything gets explained really clearly and if you don’t understand anything, Fiona who is my tutor is only a phone call or email away who will explain things further. There’s lots of things I’d never done before or thought I could do until I started this. Go for it! :-)
    Kelly.

    • Rachael says:

      Oh there is definitely not enough hours in the day! Thank-you for saying I should give it a go; I may just do that. If I do, I’ll let you know. I love looking at your Blog although, as I read several, I find them hard to keep up with.

  3. millefleur10 says:

    Hi Kelly,
    Great to see the photos of all your hard work, love the samples! This is a wonderful way of being able to enrol on a course and work at your own pace. Looking forward to hearing about the next stage.

    • Kelly says:

      Thanks, sometimes I wish I’d gone to college to study as I’d have been finished the course by now. Working at my own pace sometimes just comes to a grinding halt. I’m just in the middle of re-doing a bit of the course for Fiona so should have it posted shortly. :-D

  4. Penny says:

    First things first: your wee boy is adorable!

    What an interesting course! I love seeing the stuff you’ve been knitting for it. Very skilful!

    I, too, feel sad taking down Christmas decorations. One year, a LONG time ago, I was so miserable at seeing my plain, boring house after all the colourful decorations came down, that I made up my mind that my home would always be bright and colourful, Christmas or not, and I’ve stuck to that! :)

    • Kelly says:

      Good for you! I love your house, it is indeed bright and colourful.
      Thanks re the course. I’m in the middle of re-doing a bit of it again so hopefully will get it sent away tomorrow. Just a little bit of writing to do.
      How are your fur-babies doing? My wee Cuilean is snuggled beside me as I type (just the way I like it!). :-)

Leave a Reply

